Diary of an Ad Man

October 11, 2009

Six Figure Copywriting—

Six Figure Copywriting—

How You Can Make $10,000 to $12,000 A Month By Writing Copy For Business Owners Who Need Advertising Results FAST.

Also… How You Can Double Or Triple Your Sales If You Own A Business In A Competitive Market and Pay Yourself Six Figures With Your Own Copywriting.

Dear Serious Marketer,

The six figure copywriting secrets I’m about to reveal to you have been tested and proven. They’ve been tested and proven in the car industry, the furniture industry, the seminar industry, the publishing industry, the mining and manufacturing industries and more.

Let me get right to the point… right to the secret. It’s a secret very few business owners and graphic artists… and web site designers know. The secret is this….

PEOPLE WILL NOT READ LONG COPY ADS AND WEBSITES…

BUT PROSPECTS WILL.

Read that again… out loud… It’s vital to your success that you get the message.

People will not read a long letter or long-winded ad… or long worded web site.

But what do you care about PEOPLE… NO… NO… NO… You are NOT advertising to “people”… but instead, you’re advertising to PROSPECTS!!!

And guess what? Prospects have questions. They have objections. They have fears. They have dreams. They have open and hidden desires. If you don’t speak to their questions, fears, dreams, etc… you will not get the sale.

But if you do speak to their questions, fears, dreams and objections, you will get the sale.

If you want to make a ton of money… as a writer… or in your own business… you must learn the art and skill of copywriting.

Almost anyone can do it. But you need some tools. What kind of tools?

The following is a random list of ideas, techniques, methods that anyone can use to become a six figure copywriter. Use these tools, and you’re almost there.

  1. Read. You can’t be a writer of any kind, unless you are a reader. As you read, try to absorb sentence structure, cadence, hidden rhyming schemes. Read magazines, books, articles, love letters, poems, novels, biographies and more.
  2. Cheat. What I mean by this is find great ads or sales letters, and type the whole thing out on your own computer. Or write it out by hand. You might want to find great ads like Joe Sugarman’s ad: The Truth About Pocket Calculators. Or, Maxwell Sackhiem’s ad called: Do You Make These Mistakes In English. Or, Gary Halbert’s Family Crest sales letter. By actually sitting down and writing these great ads out, you will learn tons about how to present a good sales argument.
  3. Find great advertising books: Every great copywriter has on his shelf books by Claude Hopkins, Maxwell Sackhiem, Gene Schwartz, Clyde Bedell and Robert Collier. Make up your mind that you’re going to read these books at least once a year. You really must do this. Why? Because there is so much to the psychology of marketing and selling that it’s easy to forget some important element in your sales letter. For example, years ago, I spent a month writing what I thought was a darn good ad. I showed the ad to a copywriting buddy of mine and asked him what he thought. He said, “Where’s the guarantee?” I can’t believe I wrote 1,000 words of copy and forgot the guarantee. I felt like a duffus. (Is that how you spell it?)
  4. Get going. Don’t wait until you’re a master of copywriting before you begin. Why? Because you’ll never be a master copywriter without getting your hands dirty. And once you write your copy… sling it out there. I’m serious about this. You can even run your ads with typo’s in them and if you hit the right market with the right product at the right price… it won’t matter. They will still buy from you. Write copy for your own writing service… write copy for your friends… write copy for any business that will hire you. Just get in the game.
  5. Once you have some experience… you can raise your price to match your skill level… or to match you work load level. I got started after a nasty divorce in which she got the equity in the 3 houses we owned and I got a five gallon bucket of pennies, my old red pick up truck and my mind. I felt I won. With the bucket of pennies I printed up some business cards that said I was an “Ad Agency” and went knocking on doors. It did not take long before someone believed me and said… “Sure kid, you can be our ad agency, we fired the last agency for putting typo’s in our ad.” I was in. I got $100 for creating my very first ad. It wasn’t much. But I put my heart and soul into it. The client was happy because the marketing I created for him paid off quite well.
  6. Find a mentor. Almost every great copywriter I know has had a mentor. You’ll need one to bounce ideas off of. You’ll need on to keep you focused. You’ll need one to guide you to the next level. I consider Mr. Bedell my mentor. He was an advertising man in the 1940’s through the 1960’s. He created a marketing program for Ford Motor company in 1935 that helped Ford outsell GM for the first time in 10 years. What was his trick? He created a showroom floor book about the car that FORCED the salesmen to talk about BENEFITS not FEATURES. As I recall he was paid something like $100,000 for his trouble… which was a lot of money in 1935. Wasn’t that in the “Great Depression”? Yes it was. Don’t let this economic downturn scare you. Every business needs good marketing now more than ever.
  7. Count the money. There are thousands upon thousands of businesses out there that need help with their marketing. You can’t help them all. But if you start down this road and pick up a few clients you could command a nice $10,000 copywriting fee for every letter or web site you write. Doing one a month puts you in the six figure category. Let me know if I can help.

Sincerely,

Linwood Austin

yourlinwood@gmail.com

Phone: 801-201-9026

P. S. If you want to make money as a blogger, email me… and I’ll send you some “killer” information on how to do it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.